Dancing In The Fight


Always wonderful uplifting messages from Kris Deva North… my dear friend and teacher. Thank you.

Kris Deva North

Shadowy movements at dawn in the park, neither dancing nor fighting though to me it looked like both. My mother danced with Fonteyn and enrolled me in my aunt’s ballet school but I retired at five, so no competition for Billy.

The fighting came later, first at school whacking Fatty Barnard across the ring under the smiling Irish eyes of Father Paddy Noonan, then my chum James to win the Army Garrison title in Malta before being KO’d by a Marine in Hong Kong. Karate in my forties to get fit after a hernia op but longer recovery times sparring with teens and twenties retired me after four stubborn years.

The sun rose on a grace, a flow, on faces as serene as at prayer as they stepped and spun, spiraled and thrust: shamanic theatre enacted under the trees, celestial combat, rooted in Earth and played in the human dimension…

View original post 245 more words

Leave a Reply

